Term Life Insurance

Monday, March 27, 2017
Free Term Life insurance quotes in minutesLife insurance basicsLife insurance needs calculator - how much life insurance do I need?Comprehensive information on life insuranceFind your insurance needs according to your life eventsFrequently asked questions on life insuranceReliaQuote life insurance services


Call us at (800) 940-3002  
State of Wisconsin - The Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
125 South Webster Street
Madison, Wisconsin 53703-3474

The Office of the Commissioner of Insurance (OCI) was created by the legislature in 1871. The original intent of OCI has not changed drastically over the past 125 years. In 1871, OCI was vested with broad powers to ensure that the insurance industry responsibly and adequately met the insurance needs of Wisconsin citizens. Today, OCI's mission is to lead the way in informing and protecting the public and responding to its insurance needs.

OCI performs a variety of tasks to protect insurance consumers and ensure a competitive insurance environment. OCI's major functions include:
  • Reviewing insurance policies that are sold in Wisconsin to make sure they meet the requirements set forth in Wisconsin law;
  • Conducting examinations of domestic and foreign insurers to ensure compliance with Wisconsin laws and rules;
  • Monitoring the financial solvency of licensed companies to make sure that consumers have the insurance coverage they expect when they need it;
  • Issuing licenses to the various parties involved in selling and marketing insurance products;
  • Assisting insurance consumers with their insurance problems;
  • Researching special insurance issues to understand and assess their impact on Wisconsin;
  • Providing technical assistance on legislation and promulgating administrative rules to interpret insurance laws;
  • Creating and distributing public information and consumer education pieces to educate people about insurance; and
  • Operating a state life insurance fund, a property fund for the property owned by local units of government, and a patients compensation fund insuring health care providers for medical malpractice.

View other states: Alabama, Arizona, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia,